Dillon Lewis starts for Wales against Barbarians under Pivac’s first game as Head Coach

Wales’ new head coach Wayne Pivac has named his squad for his first fixture in charge against the Barbarians at Principality Stadium on Saturday 30th November, starting with RWC 2019 semi-finalist Lewis in the front row.

The forward line-up is made up of eight players who featured in the 2019 World Cup with Tipuric named in a back row alongside Aaron Shingler and Aaron Wainwright. Jake Ball and Adam Beard feature in the second row with Wyn Jones, Ken Owens and Dillon Lewis named in the front row.

Cardiff Blues half-backs Tomos Williams and Jarrod Evans are named together with Hadleigh Parkes and Owen Watkin partnering in midfield.

Uncapped Scarlets wing McNicholl will line-up in a back three alongside Josh Adams and Leigh Halfpenny.

Justin Tipuric will captain the side as Wales take on the famous Baa-Baas for the first time since 2012.

Engagesport’s Owen Lane, is named as backline cover, along with second row, Seb Davies.

On announcing his first Wales squad, Pivac said: “It is great to get the squad announced and get the ball rolling on our first meet-up and first fixture.

“This Barbarians game is a great chance for us as a new squad and management to get together and to set the scene for what we are looking to do. Having this opportunity ahead of tournament rugby in the Six Nations is ideal for us.

“It is also a great chance for some players to really put their hand up and show what they are about and take to the field in front of a big crowd at home.

Photo: Ben Evans (WRU/Huw Evans) – Wales’ new Head Coach Wayne Pivac

Wales Men v Barbarians (Saturday 30 November, Principality Stadium, 14.45am):
15. Leigh Halfpenny
14. Johnny McNicholl
13. Owen Watkin
12. Hadleigh Parkes
11. Josh Adams
10. Jarrod Evans
9. Tomos Williams
1. Wyn Jones
2. Ken Owens
3. Dillon Lewis
4. Jake Ball
5. Adam Beard
6. Aaron Shingler
7. Justin Tipuric (c)
8. Aaron Wainwright


16. Elliot Dee
17. Rob Evans
18. Leon Brown
19. Seb Davies
20. Ollie Griffiths
21. Gareth Davies
22. Sam Davies
23. Owen Lane